A wide selection of archaeological and ethnographic reproductions of the Eastern Woodlands, the Northwest Coast and the Arctic of Canada. No synthetics, no simulations, all is realistic and functional.

 

Our work is based on archaeological and ethnographic research to produce objects that are scientifically documented, tested by experimentation and respectful of traditions. Each object is made by hand with traditional techniques and natural materials such as wood, bark, bone, antler, leather and stone as well as some recycled materials like steel. Most of our reproductions are made following a complete process from the raw materials to the finished object.

 

Our reproductions are functional creations based on knowledge acquired through experimental archaeology. We search museum collections and available documents to reproduce the typical characteristics of each artifact within the limits of observable variability. Every object is thus unique and may be customized for your needs. We can also reproduce specific artifacts based on information provided by our clients.

 

Our objective is to provide quality crafts that can be experienced as they would have been when they were a part of everyday life. For a complete educative experience and exhibition purposes, every object comes with a documentary sheet including use and care instructions.

 

Our work follows professional ethics for the protection of the archaeological record, public health and biodiversity. Since stone objects cannot be dated out of context, our reproductions are engraved with a discrete mark to avoid confusion with real artifacts. Our reproductions in organic materials are inspected and if necessary sterilized to avoid the propagation of  microorganisms. No endangered species or prohibited materials are used according to Quebec legislation.

 

Over a hundred reproductions:

· Wood working tools

· Leather working tools

· Hunting tools

· Fishing tools

· Toys

· And more

Cliquez sur les zones colorées de la carte pour un aperçu des artefacts d’une aire culturelle.

Zone de Texte: To order: 
(514) 504-4545 / info@abotec.ca

Aboriginal technologies
Artifact reproductionArchaeology education

Group activities

Artifact reproduction

Consultation services

Home

Artifact reproductions

Copyright © 2017 Martin Lominy

Credits

About

Contact

Français

Artifact reproduction repairs for museums and educational institutions

 

Your educative collection has been around for a long time and it could use some maintenance? It is often less expensive to repair a damaged reproduction than to buy a new one. No matter where your reproductions were made, we can reassemble, replace parts or improve the general appearance of any object.

 

· Resharpening and hafting of knapped and polished stone tools

· Reshaping and reconditioning of bone objects

· Replacement of synthetic materials by natural ones

· Improvement on the performance of various instruments

· Consolidation of fragile assemblages

 

Contact us for an evaluation

Artifact set with fragmented pieces and complete objects for fieldwork simulations

 

Woodland period, Iroquoian culture. Includes illustrated documentary sheets. Price: 160.00$

 

Content: Polished stone axe or adze head (complete or fragmented), stone pestle, chert arrow point, chert scraper, chert biface or drill fragment, chert flakes, soapstone bead, slate gorget fragment, phalange toy part, bone harpoon fragment, bone fish hook fragment, bone needle fragment, bone awl fragment, various bone fragments, pottery sherds.

 

Each fragment represents 50% of the artifact with typical characteristics allowing for the extrapolation of form and the identification of function.

Vaste gamme de reproductions archéologiques et ethnographiques des Forêts de l’Est, de la Côte Nord-Ouest et de l’Arctique du Canada. Pas de synthétiques, pas de simulations, tout est réaliste et fonctionnel.

 

Notre travail est basé sur des recherches en archéologie et en ethnologie pour produire des objets documentés scientifiquement, éprouvés par expérimentation et respectueux des traditions. Chaque objet est fabriqué à la main avec des techniques traditionnelles et des matériaux naturels dont le bois, l’écorce, l’os, l’andouiller, le cuir et la pierre ainsi que certains matériaux recyclés comme l’acier. La plupart de nos reproductions sont fabriquées en suivant un processus complet, des matériaux bruts à l’objet fini.

 

Nos reproductions sont des créations fonctionnelles basées sur des connaissances acquises à travers l’archéologie expérimentale. Nous consultons les collections muséales et les documents disponibles pour reproduire les caractéristiques typiques de chaque artefact dans les limites d’une variabilité observable. Chaque objet est donc unique et peut être personnalisé pour vos besoins. Nous pouvons aussi reproduire des artefacts spécifiques à partir d’informations fournies par nos clients.

 

Notre objectif est de produire des objets de  qualité qui peuvent être manipulés comme ils l’auraient été lorsqu’ils faisaient partie de la vie quotidienne. Pour une expérience éducative complète ou vos besoins d’exposition, chaque objet est accompagné d’une fiche documentaire avec des conseils d’utilisation et d’entretien.

 

Nous suivons un code d’éthique professionnel pour la protection du registre archéologique, de la santé publique et de la biodiversité. Nos objets en pierre ne pouvant pas être datés,  ils sont gravés d’une marque discrète pour les distinguer des véritables artefacts. Nos objets en matières organiques sont inspectés et si nécessaire stérilisés pour éviter la propagation de microorganismes. Nous n’utilisons pas d’espèces menacées ou de matériaux prohibés selon la législation en vigueur au Québec.

 

Plus d’une centaine de reproductions:

· Outils pour le bois

· Outils pour le cuir

· Outils de chasse

· Outils de pêche

· Jouets

· Et plus

Cliquez sur les zones colorées de la carte pour un aperçu des artefacts d’une aire culturelle.

Zone de Texte: Pour commander: 
(514) 504-4545 / info@abotec.ca

À propos

Contact

English

Technologies autochtones
Reproduction d’artefactsÉducation en archéologie

Activités de groupes

Reproduction d’artefacts

Services de consultation

Accueil

Artefacts

Réparation de reproductions d’artefacts pour les musées et organismes de diffusions

 

Votre collection éducative circule depuis longtemps et aurait besoin d’entretien? Il est souvent moins coûteux de réparer une reproduction endommagée que de racheter un objet complet. Peu importe la provenance de vos reproductions, nous pouvons refaire l’assemblage, remplacer des pièces ou améliorer l’aspect général de l’objet.

 

· Réaffutage et emmanchement d’outils en pierre taillée et polie

· Retaille et mise à neuf d’objets en os

· Remplacement de matériaux synthétiques par du naturel

· Amélioration de la performance de divers instruments

· Consolidation d’assemblages fragiles

 

Contactez-nous pour une évaluation

Ensemble d’artefacts fragmentés et complets pour simulation de fouille archéologique

 

Période sylvicole, culture iroquoïenne. Inclus des fiches documentaires illustrées. Prix: 160.00$

 

Contenu: Tête de hache ou herminette en pierre polie (complète ou fragmentée), pilon en pierre, pointe de flèche en chert, grattoir en chert, fragment de biface ou de foret en chert, éclats de chert, perle en stéatite, fragment de gorgerin en ardoise, pièce de bilboquet en phalange, fragment de harpon en os, fragment d’hameçon en os, fragment d’aiguille en os, fragment d’alène en os, fragments matières osseuses, fragments de poterie.

 

Chaque fragment représente 50% de l’artefact avec des caractéristiques typiques permettant l’extrapolation

de la forme et l’identification de la fonction.

Copyright © 2017 Martin Lominy

Crédits