Group activities

Aboriginal technologies in archaeology

Technology is defined as the knowledge and practices, based on scientific principles, in a technical domain. As such, ancient technologies have nothing to envy modern technologies. They are no less efficient in their purpose, they are just older. The main quality of those technologies called primitive is that they can be made without depending on anything else than raw materials and craftsmanship. In the past, they were perfectly adapted to the way of life that nature imposed. Science was not written but raher experienced on a daily basis with the physical and chemical principles that allowed people to transform animal, plant and mineral materials into tools of subsistence. The knowledge was passed from one generation to the next by practice and improved by experimentation. Over thousands of years, aboriginal technologies have achieved a degree of sophistication that challenges archaeology.

Learn more

Copyright © 2017 Martin Lominy

Aboriginal refers to the people known in Canada as First Nations. They are the descendants of the first human groups to colonize the American continent during the Ice Age between 40,000 and 12,000 years ago after several land and maritime migrations from Asia. These first nomadic people living from hunting, fishing and gathering brought with them knowledge and technologies that allowed them to adapt to different environments and develop new traditions to become over several millenia a multitude of culturally distinct groups. In Quebec, there are today 11 aboriginal nations divided into three linguistic groups: Iroquoians, Algonquians and Inuits (which arrived as a seperate migration).

Learn more

Archaeology is a scientific discipline seeking to understand past human societies through the study of material remains. The study of ancient technologies benefits particularly from an experimental approach. Experimental archaeology is a research method specialized in the replication of past objects and behaviours to understand the processes involved in making and using artifacts found in archaeological sites and verify hypotheses that cannot be tested in a laboratory. For academic purposes, these experiments are systematically documented to later serve the scientific community. For educational purposes, the results are converted into courses, conferences, exhibitions, demonstrations and workshops to be presented to the public.

Learn more

Our mission is mainly educational and aims to provide the general public with a more practical vision of the past and a better understanding of aboriginal cultures of North America through the experimentation of ancient technologies. Learn more

Aboriginal technologies

Artifact reproductionArchaeology education

Made by hand and shown first hand, to promote archaeology and preserve traditions.

Home

Credits

Artifact reproduction

Consultation services

About

Contact

Français

Activités de groupes

Les technologies autochtones en archéologie

La technologie se définit comme un ensemble de savoirs et de pratiques, fondé sur des principes scientifiques, dans un domaine technique. Les technologies anciennes n’ont donc rien à envier aux technologies modernes. Elles ne sont pas moins efficaces, seulement plus anciennes. La principale qualité des technologies dites primitives est de pouvoir les fabriquer sans dépendre d’autre chose que des matériaux et du savoir-faire. Dans le passé, elles étaient parfaitement adaptées au mode de vie qui s’imposait. La science n’était pas écrite mais plutôt vécue au quotidien dans les principes physiques et chimiques qui permettaient de transformer les matières animales, végétales et minérales en outils de subsistance. Les savoirs étaient transmis d’une génération à l’autre par la pratique et améliorés par l’expérimentation. Au fil des millénaires, les technologies autochtones ont atteint un degré de sophistication qui met l’archéologie au défi. En savoir plus

Copyright © 2017 Martin Lominy

Les autochtones sont les peuples connus au Canada sous le terme Premières Nations. Ce sont les descendants des premiers groupes humains qui ont colonisé le continent américain durant l’ère glaciaire entre 40,000 et 12,000 ans suite à plusieurs vagues de migrations terrestres et maritimes en provenance d’Asie. Ces premiers peuples nomades vivant de chasse, pêche et cueillette ont amené avec eux des savoirs et des technologies qui leur ont permis de s’adapter aux différents environnements et développer de nouvelles traditions pour constituer au cours des millénaires une multitude de groupes culturellement distincts. Au Québec, il y a aujourd’hui 11 nations autochtones réparties en trois groupes linguistiques: Iroquoïens, Algonquiens et Inuits (originaires d’une migration distincte).

En savoir plus

L’archéologie est une discipline scientifique qui cherche à comprendre les sociétés humaines du passé par l’étude des restes matériels. L’étude des technologies anciennes bénéficie particulièrement d’une approche expérimentale. L’archéologie expérimentale est une méthode de recherche spécialisée dans la reproduction d’objets et de comportements du passé. Son objectif est de comprendre les processus de fabrication et d’utilisation des artefacts retrouvés dans les sites archéologiques et vérifier des hypothèses qui ne sont pas testables en laboratoire. Dans un contexte académique, ces expériences sont documentées de façon systématique afin de les transmettre à la communauté scientifique. Dans un contexte éducatif, les résultats sont vulgarisés sous forme de cours, conférences, expositions, démonstrations et ateliers présentés au public.

En savoir plus

Notre mission est principalement éducative et vise à offrir au grand public une vision plus concrète du passé et une meilleure compréhension des cultures autochtones d’Amérique du Nord à travers l’expérimentation des technologies anciennes. En savoir plus

Technologies autochtones

Reproduction d’artefactsÉducation en archéologie

Fait à la main et montré de première main, pour la diffusion de l’archéologie et la conservation des traditions.

Accueil

Crédits

Reproduction d’artefacts

Services de consultation

À propos

Contact

English